First world problems * Patricia Problems: Goals for2012

First world problems: Problems from living in a wealthy, industrialized nation those third worlders would probably roll their eyes at.

Patricia Problems: Problems that anyone with any sense from anywhere would probably roll their eyes at including mermaids, imaginary friends, guppys, tinkerbell, a rock, and on and on.

Recently almost all my friends and loved ones have been dealing with reel problems; the type of problems that make you question everything you’ve understood of the world around you, the type that shake you to you core…. In my heart of hearts I do hope to be available and appropriately sympathetic. I have to admit that it is uncomfortable when the people I love are suffering and they turn to me to ask how I am and all I can say is that I’ve never been better.

So a close friend and I coined the phrase a “Patricia Problem”. For example I accidentally got the lotion and the hair gel mixed up, my arms got stuck together, and then I had to take a second shower. Or my most recent blunder I somehow someway lost my balance putting my swim suit on and I fell over in the locker room (so embarrassing). Or I lost my phone, and my wallet in separate incidents in a 3 day span, but I got them both back in decent condition accept for the tire marks on the wallet. The point being the problems that are plaguing me these days are relatively benign.

Goals for 2012: Every year until now I’ve spent tremendous time and effort detailing lists of goals for the year. I spend hours prioritizing, organizing, making plans and on and on…. So far I’ve been reasonably successful at following through on these neurotic endeavors. For 2012 rather than a long list of goals and plans I’m thinking of a complete paradigm shift. I’m no longer looking at the specifics but more at the theme. I am going to put my heart and soul into making decisions that will make me a happier person. This may sound perfectly obvious, but it’s brand new to me. I’ve always made decisions out of fear of losing the security that I’ve build in my adulthood, out of a want to provide for all my friends and family, out of a new found comfort ability among the upper-middle class. I’ve built a life were my greatest strength was my ability to deprive myself in order to make gains toward my goals. I was conditioned to sleep 3-4 hours a night, I can survive on hemp protein, I can focus for endless hours all of which moving me toward goals to nowhere; I successfully dug a big hole for myself. Now having recovered from the adrenal fatigue and complete exhaustion of every system I see the error of my ways. So the big theme of 2012 is to factor in my wellbeing when making decisions and to focus all my energy on improving as an athlete.

Athletic goals for 2012:

  • Improve my mile time by at least minute in order to qualify for Paralympics. (5 min mile)
  • Improve my sprint triathlon time by a minimum of 10 min (managing panic in the swim)
  • Represent U.S. at New Zeeland world championships for Sprint triathlon. (swim in the cold ocean, you’ve got to be kidding me!)

As always I am so thankful to my friends and family for their on going support. The absolute best thing about IronMan Texas was seeing my family come out in full force to celebrate. I’ll work hard in 2012 so that we have some decent excuse to celebrate again.

Leave a Reply

